My wedding planning rules to myself.

Blog post 1, July 2013.

My wedding planning rules to myself:

1. Don’t become Bridezilla.

2. Be organised.

3. Make sure it isn’t just what I want, but what we both want.

4. Don’t leave my guests either bored or hungry on the day.

5. Don’t become Bridezilla.

So far I’ve succeeded at numbers 1, 3 (I believe, you’d need to ask my fiance!) and 5.

I’ve been concerned that succeeding at no 2 would lead to failure of no’s 1 & 5, as far as it may take over my life! However, it’s now been 7 months since getting engaged and thus far we have organised very little.

It’s not that I’m not excited, it’s just that I can’t get ‘into it’. It still all seems very surreal, I can’t believe I’m actually getting married!

So Jon and I got together Christmas 2009. I was 28, he was 32. I had decided one week before meeting him, that I was happy being single. I believe you meet someone special when you’re not looking… It wasn’t exactly a fairy-tale story of boy meets girl, they fall in love and live happily ever after. Ours was….

Boy meets girl at a Haloween party, boy flirts with girl then confesses he has a girlfriend. Girl is upset as she liked boy. Girl gets a little drunk (which she doesn’t normally do as she’s aware of the threatening hangover the next day) and on her way to the shed to get more beer falls over. Not a ladylike slip but a skiing accident style, arms and legs everywhere. Result = complete and utter embarrassment. Boy, being a gentleman, didn’t laugh but helped her up.

Several months later boy contacts girl on Facebook (this is seemingly what modern dating has become) and asks her out. Girl hasn’t changed her status from ‘engaged’ to ‘single’ as several months before that was accurate (I was avoiding all the “ahhh what happened?” comments.) Girl and boy both then spend the whole first date wondering “does he still have a girlfriend?” And “is she engaged to someone else?”

We later clarified that we were both single.. then fell in love and lived happily ever after right? Nope! Way too simple. We did then get together, agreed it was exclusive and I have genuinely lovely memories of those following months, falling for him. I love the bit at the beginning of a relationship when it all lies ahead of you, the butterflies and excitement, and the unknown. Jon is thoughtful, patient, intelligent and grounded. We moved in together after we’d been dating for just over a year. I love living with Jon but hadn’t anticipated that his (adorable but) small house wouldn’t have anywhere near enough room for all my shoes. There were no doors to slam in an argument, the bathroom was off the lounge and it was cold. Loved that house, with its original features such as wood beams, blocked up windows due to the 19th century window tax and the original fireplace (until the shower caught fire one day whilst I was in it, and we had to move out for 3 months). It really has put a dampener in my thing for firemen I tell you). We’re not the luckiest of couples!

We have also spent a lot of time apart- I went to New Zealand and Australia for 4 months, spent 3 months working in the UAE, and now live in London 158 miles away from our home in Devon.

So that’s a bit about us. Not the most romantic of starts to a relationship. But three and a half years on we are engaged and I’m the happiest I’ve ever been.

I decided to write a blog about my wedding planning experience, from a female perspective (which is the perspective all wedding planning seems to be from), as the months go by. Why? I like the idea of writing a diary but never have the commitment to see it through. How will this end? Hopefully in a lovely wedding and a happy marriage!

Please do feel free to comment on my blog, thank you for reading.

